Mira Costa High School

Skip to main content

Costa Drama/Tech Takes Top Prizes at Fullerton Theatre Festival

Congratulations to Mira Costa Drama/Tech for winning the Sweepstakes Award, as well as numerous 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place finishes among all the competition categories, at the Fullerton College High School Theatre Festival, which took place at Fullerton College on Friday and Saturday, March 23rd-24th. Costa competed against dozens of schools from Southern California in a wide range of theater competitions, including Tech Olympics, musical theater scenes, monologues, comedic and dramatic scenes, and comedy improv. 

Here are the final results:

(highest overall scores among all schools participating at the festival)

1st place - Cast: Ava Alexiades, Carson Billingsley, Brinn Borowsky, Kyra Dates, Ari Derambakhsh, Molly DeSimone, Natalie Dreger, Jack Drinker, Jack Gebele, Noah Geller, Sabrina Harris, Rachel Langetieg, Charlie Lusky, Toby Kamish, Cole Konis Will Martens, Olivia Morgan, Griffin Moore, Mary Clare Powell, Owen Price-Hughes, Natalie Rebenkoff, Hannah Ryan, Kaitlin Sanders, Tiffany Smith, Olivia Stanley, Tucker St. Ivany

1st place – Team HaHa: Sophi Boylan, Jack Drinker, Dalia Feliciano, Rebecca Rosen, Tucker St. Ivany

Tech Overall: 1st place Gold Team, 2nd place Green Team
Relay Tool Usage: 1st place Green team, 2nd place Gold Team
Electrical Wiring: 1st place Green Team, 2nd place Gold Team
Tool identification: 1st place Green Team, 3rd place Gold Team
Lighting Focus: 2nd place Green Team
Costume Quick Change: 2nd place Gold Team
Team Knot Tying: 2nd place Gold team 
Individual Knot Tying: 2nd place Sofia Aguirre
Prop Quick Change: 3rd place Gold Team

Gold Team: Alex Attala, Mia Davis, Carly Jaeger, Matt Sherman, Kira Rapier-Mateo, Janireth Lopez (alternate)

Green Team: Sofia Aguirre, Alyssa Castronuovo, Reilly Fox, Sofia Wuolijoki, Lani Yujiri, Mikelyn Anderson (alternate)

Congratulations, as well, to the finalists in various acting and theatre games categories – Scott Baxter, Ari Derambahksh, Emma Gray, Sabrina Harris, Sydney Holliday, Owen Price-Hughes, Natalie Rebenkoff, Kavita Sarathy, Team Tycoon: Carson Billingsley, Molly DeSimone, Shelby Friedman, Toby Kamish, Stephanie Sala – and to all the students who participated in the event.