Mira Costa High School

Skip to main content

Testing Information

Recommended Timeline for Assessments:
  • Sophomores: PSAT, Practice ACT (see "Test Prep Resources" below for more information on Practice/Mock opportunities)
  • Juniors: PSAT and SAT, and ACT (Students interested in participating in the National Merit Scholarship Program must take the PSAT in the 11th grade. Visit the National Merit website for more information.)
  • Seniors: SAT and/or ACT (take last exams by December for college consideration!)
  
FREE Resources for SAT/ACT test preparation: 
 
 
Chegg Test Prep FREE online resources:

- SAT Test Prep: http://www.chegg.com/test-prep/sat

- ACT Test Prep: http://www.chegg.com/test-prep/act

 

Khan Academy FREE online resources: https://www.khanacademy.org

 

StudyBlue online flashcard may help students learn faster and improve outcomes. Flashcards have long been an effective tool for learning and now that StudyBlue is FREE, students can easily create, share and study flashcards for any subject without a monthly subscription.  You can learn more about us here: http://www.studyblue.com/

Local Options for Test Prep (Check back regularly for updates!)
 
Blue Train Tutoring:  www.bluetraintutoring.com

ACT Speed Session Want to beat your test anxiety? Want to learn to move more quickly? Come to a one of a kind Blue Train workout, where there will be no scoring or grading, only tips and drills to help you perform better. By the end of the hour and a half, students should feel more confident about letting go, moving quickly, and accessing their greatest potential under pressure. Simply RSVP to office@bluetraincollegeprep.com with your name and we will put you on the list! Limited space available. First come, first serve! For more details, click here.

 
Catalyst Test Prep:  www.CatalystPrep.com
 
Compass Prep:  www.compassprep.com  
Compass offers complimentary proctored practice tests for students in Southern California.  Locations include the Manhattan Beach Library, Peninsula Center Library, and in Beverly Hills at the Compass Office.  Please see details at practicetests@compassprep.com or call 800-925-1250.
 
Kaplan Practice Tests:  www.kaptest.com
 
LA Tutors:  www.latutors123.com
Free full-length SAT or ACT practice tests offered.
Sign up here to take one in Beverly Hills:  https://www.latutors123.com/proctored-tests/
Please see flyer attached below.
 

PJ Test Prep Summer/Fall Schedule (at www.pjtestprep.com) is now live, as is our newest list of FREE SAT/ACT Practice Tests & College Essay Seminars (at www.pjtestprep.com/rsvp)! 

 
Princeton Review:  www.princetonreview.com 

Princeton Review is offing an ACT Prep Class at Mira Costa starting in January. Flyer is attached.

For pricing, registration, and more details go to:  ThePrincetonReview.com/MiraCostaHSPrep

Promo codeMiraCostaHS15  (All Mira Costa HS students get 15% off the course)

Free practice tests are offered locally twice a month please go to the Princeton Review Website for details. Princetonreview.com/FreeEvents

 

  

Revolution Prep

FREE Practice SAT and ACT tests at Mira Costa High School!  Hosted by Revolution Prep.
Date: March 2, 2019

Time: 9am to 12:15pm

Choose: SAT or ACT

Location: Mira Costa High Schools – Rooms 14 and 16

Bring: pencils, calculator, water and a snack

Register: Via this link https://www.revolutionprep.com/partners/61/

Questions: Contact Jean Stroud, Revolution Prep Academic Advisor, at 818-217-0951 or jean.stroud@revolutionprep.com.

 

Students can score their exams immediately after they finish with the simple Revolution Prep phone app.

Essay included which can be taken at home.

A free score report review is included and is given by Jean Stroud.  Schedule that here: www.revolutionprep.com/jean-stroud

Please see Holiday Gift Card Offer attached below.

 

Study Hut Tutoring:  www.studyhut.com